Buddhist books The Tripitaka - Sutta, Vinaya, Abhidhammapitaka

The Tripitaka : Buddhist books The Tripitaka - Sutta, Vinaya, Abhidhammapitaka
the tripitaka

Tripitaka or Three Baskets is a traditional term used for various Buddhist scriptures. It is known as pali Canon in English. The three pitakas are Sutta Pitaka, Vinaya Pitaka and Abhidhamma Pitaka. Theravāda school Tripitaka is the only complete Tripitaka preserved in Pali. Sārvāstivāda is a near complete Tripitaka written in Sanskrit and preserved in Sanskrit, Chinese and Tibetan. The 7 books of Abhidhammapitakasurvive in Chinese Translation. Dhammaguptakatripitaka is written in Gandhari. Other versions of Tripitaka are Mahasanghika, Mahisasaka, Mūlasārvāstivāda & Kāśyapīya

Sutta Pitaka

It contains over 10 thousand suttas or sutras related to Buddha and his close companions. This also deals with the first Buddhist council which was held shortly after Buddha’s death, dated by the majority of recent scholars around 400 BC, under the patronage of king Ajatasatru with the monk Mahakasyapa presiding, at Rajgir.

 Vinaya Pitaka 

The subject matter of Vinay Pitaka is the monastic rules for monks and nuns. It can also be called as Book of Discipline.


Abhidhammapitaka deals with the philosophy and doctrine of Buddhism appearing in the suttas. However, it does not contain the systematic philosophical treatises. There are 7 works of Abhidhamma Pitaka which most scholars agree that don’t represent the words of Buddha himself. 

the three pitaka's is further devided as the chart shown below.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow by Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Popular Posts


Jobs (149) Results (119) Exams (81) Admissions (53) Govt Jobs (51) admit card (34) Education (30) PVT Jobs (30) TimeTable (20) Walk in Jobs (16) hall tickets (15) Article (9) Buddhism (7) Entertainment (7) Lyrics (7) Relationship (7) Bank Jobs (5) Religion (5) TOP (5) Love (4) UPSC (2) Answer Key (1) Syllabus (1)

Blog Archive